A Few Repairs You Can Do Yourself

Hey all, my name’s Larry Campbell and I’m here to talk to you about home improvements and repair! I’ve been something of a handyman in the Detroit area for the past 15-20 years, and I love my work enough I wanted to try to open up a blog to get some thoughts and ideas out there that might save you some money, or at least prove informational!

With that in mind, I would like to make a list of the most common home repairs (that I’ve seen), and how you can do them yourself without wanting to call the professional! Of course, you’ll still want to call them sometimes, otherwise I’d be out of a job! 😉

Replacing a Light Switch

Alright, forget what I said a second ago – you really should call a professional when it comes to most electrical work, since there’s a much higher risk of injury or death when it comes to this sort of thing. But if you take the needed precautions, you can totally replace most light switches by yourself, so long as you remember to disconnect the power! All you need otherwise is both a flathead and a Phillips-head screwdriver, and a little patience.

Applying Caulk

4546277-21

I know, you’re all laughing about the name, but caulk is serious stuff ok? 😉 Honestly, most anyone can reapply caulk (and with the ages of some of the bathrooms I’ve seen in Michigan, it’s a skill most of you out there need!) just so long as you have a steady hand. My dad told me stories about having to get rid of old caulk with a razor scraper, but these days you can get by with some cheap caulk remover and a drywall scraper. As soon as that’s done, all you have to do is lay down a new line and you’re all set! I’ve posted a picture of my favorite Milwaukee-brand caulk gun here, but you don’t need anything fancy. As far as remover goes, I prefer the Goof-Off brand remover, which you can find here if you need some. (And no, I’m not getting any money from Home Depot!)

Patching Drywall

I’ve seen plenty of mysterious fist-sized holes in walls in my time, and as glad as I am for the business it’s something a lot of people could do without having to get help (or have to explain to people what happened!). Honestly, a lot of time if the hole isn’t too big you can get away with some spackle and a drywall knife (I tend to use the DAP Vinyl compound myself), but if it’s on the large size you might have to do some cutting and replacing with drywall scraps/sheets. Still nothing someone couldn’t handle on their own!

Replacing a Screen (Door/Window)

Maybe a bit of a scarier one, but really not a big thing so long as you take your time and come prepared. Looking a little further into what kind of door you have and what kind of screen you’ll need will save you a lot of headaches. And if you want to hear a secret from an old hand? DIYNetwork has some great tips on it.

I hope this proved helpful for anyone who reads, and I’ll be back soon with some more information!

A Few Repairs You Can Do Yourself

Leave a Reply

